Patience

Yesterday was my 6 week follow up appointment with my orthopedic doctor.  Thanks to physical therapy, I am finally on the right path to getting rid of my foot woes. The plantar fasciitis on the bottom of my foot has improved drastically, however the scar tissue on the side of my foot where I fractured it 3 years ago is the main villain causing the pain I am still continuing to have.  The plan of attack the doctor took was to give me another shot of cortisone to help break up the scar tissue (and for the record that shot feels like it goes straight into the bone. I bring this up because well I have a low threshold for pain and just expressing how much that sucked). I will continue with PT as it is helping my recovery, continuing to refrain from running and jumping and I will go back to the doc for a follow up in another two months.

Some people can get rid of Plantar Fasciitis in 1 month, some people take years. I obviously want to be done with it as quickly as possible so that just means I need to practice more patience (which for those who know me, this is not my strong suit). I realized when I left the doctor’s office that I didn’t even ask how long he foresees my recovery to be.  Maybe part of me doesn’t want to know that there’s a chance I can be dealing with this for more than just another month or two. I also realized I don’t want to set myself up for disappointment. If he had told me I could be back to running a 10k in June, imagine how frustrated I will be when June rolls around and I still can’t run. It goes back to resetting my frame of mind for as long as I need to in order to make this bum foot a thing of the past.  If I spend every minute of the day feeling sorry for myself, I’ll drive myself insane. Keeping perspective though isn’t easy and every now and then I need reminders.

Last night I was watching Dancing with the Stars (yes I can admit that) and one of the celebs is Amy Purdy who just won a bronze medal for snowboarding in the Paralympics. At the age of 19 she lost both her legs below the knee to bacterial meningitis. Watching clips of her board and dance is astounding. So many of us with 2 “good” legs can’t even do those things and here’s this girl just going for it (and kicking ass at it). She found the strength to push through her injuries and not let them define her.  Check out a cool link on Amy

Watching Amy put things back into perspective. How many times do we focus on our injuries and woe’s me, I have to take a few months off from doing what I love? We forget that what we love isn’t going anywhere and when we get better, we will be that much more prepared to take it on safely.  I have many moments of breaking down because I can’t do what I want to RIGHT NOW.  So I have plantar fasciitis. Yes it sucks but it isn’t the worst thing that could happen.

I know far too many people who push the limits on injuries or don’t take rest days when they should. I get it, we all want to constantly push ourselves further than we have before.  We just need to know when to listen to our bodies and show them some TLC by NOT doing a thing. Sure I could continue to run or do burpees and learn to manage the pain. (see note above, I have a low threshold for pain). All that is going to do is delay recovery. I rather take a time out now, fix it and come back to see what I really am made of.

8 thoughts on “Patience

  1. Glad you are feeling better! Good luck! I can totally relate- having hurt my ankle in November, wearing a heavy boot then affected my knee, and now my other knee hurts….just from yoga.

    I want to say I take more rest days than I do, but summer is coming and I am tired of waiting on getting back into fighting shape. With that said, you are right, and instead of injuring myself further, I will add in more rest time just to be safe. At my age, injury is becoming more and more common….

    Like

    1. In my opinion ages factors in only because we tend to have bad habits or small injuries that get worse because we don’t handle them correctly. So they tend to catch up with them. Foot aside I am the strongest I have ever been so take that age! Hope your injuries subside so you can get back to vigorous workouts. I know you are another die hard fitness fanatic

      Like

  2. Plantar fasciitis is definitely not fun! It took me a little while to heal…but with a little time it did get better! Icing, ball rolling and the stretches helped. Hope it heals soon Missy!

    Like

  3. Ya, Missy, I can relate…caught a cold right after 14.3 and I’m still trying to recover. This morning I mentally felt ready to go back to V, my body said “heck no!” It sucks to have to rest. Cough, cough, sneeze.

    Like

Leave a Reply

