Every Day Can’t Be a Good Day

I blogged for LAX CrossFit last week after a grueling workout on Tuesday.

Post the 12/2 WOD:

I was not at my  best this morning. Five rounds into the EMOM and I felt like I maxed out. Not to mention my foot was sore and I looked outside and saw the culprit: rain. I rested a few minutes and majorly scaled down the metcon for the remainder. I definitely fell more into the sandbagging category than beast mode today.

I noticed Sean too had scaled down during the EMOM at some point and was subbing different movements. So him and I were chatting after about what went wrong for us. Sean being super ambitious and typically a bad ass machine, was really frustrated with himself. He said his gas ran out and as he was talking, he was initially confused as to why. After a little QA sesh with him, we came to realize there were a few contributing factors: 1) He didn’t eat a very filling dinner. 2) He had a drink (or 3) last night and 3) He wasn’t hydrated as he didn’t drink a lot of water yesterday. I don’t know if this made him feel any better that today was an off day but at least he knew why.

As for me, I was on a strict all sugar and carb diet last week when I was visiting family for the holidays. All the discipline I usually possess went out the window in exchange for loads of red vines, pasta, bread, imitation peanut butter covered pretzels and tortilla chips. I also had a grueling time getting back to LA yesterday and as a result, I was a bit jetlagged and dehyrdated (like Sean, I did not drink much water over the last 24 hours). Plus I didn’t eat anything before working out that would give me the energy I needed.

Probably for the first time after a less than desirable workout, I didn’t beat myself up over it. I had an ephiphany, albeit a very obvious one. Every day can’t be a good day. We can’t expect our bodies to perform at a high level every time we set foot into the box. This doesn’t make us any less of athletes, it just means we are human. We aren’t just trying to get through 20 minutes on a stationary bike or banging out some 5 lb dumbbell curls. We demand a lot from our bodies and so we need to understand what they require we fuel them. I imagine this varies from person to person. Some people can function on 4 hours of sleep or come in after working a long grueling night shift (Alex PD) while some of us need a solid 7 to 8 hours to even entertain the idea of working out. Some of us have age on our side and recovery is faster (Palmer and Garrett make me envious when I see them working out to Invictus programming, which I am convinced they come in before the break of dawn and keep going until sunset). Maybe you had a PR the day before and your body is spent. Maybe an old injury is being triggered by bad weather. My point is, figure out what your body requires (or doesn’t require) to get the most out of a workout.

Likewise, Sean should be able to enjoy a few drinks at dinner and I should be able to scarf down red vines from time to time. We just need to recognize and remind ourselves that there is a trade off. AND THAT’S OK! Today might not be a good day but tomorrow will be.

Leave a Reply

