To Guatemala by Way of Israel and Sweden

 

I am the type of person that sets out on an errand to buy a new dress and instead I come home with new shoes.  So it is not surprising that I started planning my next vacation to be in Israel but instead I booked a trip to Guatemala.

 

I initially thought I would be vacationing to Israel with my favorite Swedish friend. Then, we took that off the table and thought perhaps we would go to Italy. With Tuscany on the brain, during a psychic reading I went to, I asked what she saw for travel in the near future. Expecting her to tell me Italy (or somewhere in Europe), she instead had said that I would be going on a trip with a big group of people. I would not have to plan anything and that it would be a really positive experience.  Skeptical of this, I didn’t put much stock in it.


Well shortly after that reading, my favorite Swede had messaged me to let me know that due to a work project, she would not be able to take a trip for a few months. Ok, so for Plan B, we thought what if I go visit her in Stockholm? We always have a blast together when we get to see each other (which is not nearly enough!). So I started looking into visiting her there, perhaps spending a few days somewhere on my own and ending my vacation in Vienna where another friend would be living. 

 

As I was researching places to go and airfare prices, I was questioning though whether I really wanted to do all that flying and city hopping again. My last international trip was this past March to Asia, and I spent probably 30 hours on planes plus many layovers leaving me extremely jet lagged. I wasn’t so sure I was up for that again so soon.  But then, I went to dinner and had a server with the name Birgita.  I hadn’t heard that name before and asked her where it originated. She told me she was…. Wait for it… Swedish! Well if that wasn’t a confirming sign, what was?­

 

In my European excitement, I had posted something on Facebook about it calling my name.  A friend of mine, Becky, posted an enticing link to that post about a trip to Guatemala she wanted to take. I looked at it and I was in love! It had everything I wanted. It has spiritual healing, Mayan ceremonies, local hiking, hammocks, absolutely stunning volcanos and nature, and a VEGETARIAN MENU!!! If this Dream in Guatemala Retreat does not have my name written all over it, then well the sky isn’t blue and LA does not really have Palm Trees.

 

My soul was totally sold on this trip. My brain was catching up though. I should mention that Becky and I have not seen each other in probably 20 years. We have known each other since we were about 4 years old but probably the last time we “hung out” was in 6th grade giggling over notes we got from friends in school (yes you remember old fashioned notes you would pass to each other in the halls at school. You know, before the days of smart phones and texting).  My last memory of interacting with Becky was sitting near her in health class our senior year of high school.  So, was this crazy that I was entertaining taking a trip with someone I have not seen in decades?

 

The answer to that, it would be crazy if I did not seize this opportunity. Carpe diem friends! Both Becky and I are big believers in following where the universe guides us. Thanks to social media, we have reconnected the last few years, and have discovered that we lead very similar lifestyles albeit in two very different cities (Becky lives in NYC and I am of course here in Los Angeles).  We both are very focused on living healthy lives and uncovering our spiritual side. This trip may not have made sense to me even a year ago but life is all about timing. I have no doubt that we are for sure meant to experience this trip together. 

 

We are less than a month away from hopping on planes from our respective cities to reconnect in Guatemala. I have nothing but positive vibes about this trip and so stay tuned! I expect to come back oozing with stories, experiences and perspective.

 

One thought on “To Guatemala by Way of Israel and Sweden

Leave a Reply

